About US

The Key to New York City Hospitality!

Serving the Hotel Industry since 1878, the Hotel Association of New York City, Inc. is one of the oldest professional trade associations in the nation. Its founders’ mission was to establish an association that would serve as the voice of the hotel industry, supporting its members with the highest standard of services and best available resources. Today the Hotel Association of New York City is an internationally recognized leader in New York City’s $5 billion tourism industry, representing:

 280 of the finest hotels

80,000 rooms

approximately 50,000 employees

In a city that serves as a global center for entertainment, media finance and culture, the hospitality industry plays a pivotal role. HANYC continues to anticipate the growing needs of its member hotels within New York City’s ever changing economic and political climate. The Association represents New York City’s hotels on all fronts, including:


Labor/ Legal Counsel


Legal Counsel State/ City


Legislative Representation


Fire Protection and Public Safety


Public Relations


Association/National Involvement

"As the go-to source for New York’s hotel industry, HANYC is its proactive voice on all matters pertaining to hospitality. It advocates, educates, communicates and innovates to ensure the long term health and vitality of the industry. "
Vijay Updated Headshot
Vijay Dandapani
President and CEO of Hotel Association of New York City
Vijay Dandapani - Chairman

Vijay Dandapani

President and CEO Hotel Association of New York City

Herve Houdre - Vice Chairman

Hervé Houdré

Regional Director of Operations / General Manager

Leland Lewis - Treasurer

Leland Lewis

General Manager Down Town Association

John Fitzpatrick - Secretary

John Fitzpatrick

President & CEO Fitzpatrick Hotel Group

Steve Batta Headshot

Steve Batta

General Manager Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Vijay Dandapani

President and CEO

Niki J. Franzitta, Esq.

Vice President of Member Relations and Development

Albert Fernandez

CFO / Controller

Francine Collins


Stacey Cohen

Executive Assistant

Lizzie Baliozian

Office Services Coordinator

Neil Tai

Technology Associate

Rosa E. Reyes


Alan Guan

Engagement and Outreach Associate


Hyman Arbesfeld, President
San Carlos Hotel

Steve Batta, General Manager
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Dr. Richard Born, Principal
B.D. Hotels, LLC

Mark Dorr, President
New York State Hospitality &
Tourism Association, Inc.

Shane Cookman, General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Vijay Dandapani, President and CEO
Hotel Association of New York City, Inc.

Chester S. Deptula

Daniel Fevre, General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport

John Fitzpatrick, President & CEO
Fitzpatrick Hotel Group, North America

Sam Grabush, Vice President of Operations
Highgate Hotels

Fred Grapstein, Sr. Vice President
Vornado Hotels

Hervé Houdré, Regional Director of Operations / General Manager
Intercontinental New York Barclay

Robert Lafferty, Regional V.P. of Human Resources and Labor Counsel
Highgate Hotels

Phoebe Knowles, Vice President
Roger Smith Hotel


Leland Lewis, General Manager
Down Town Association

Terry Lewis, General Manager
New York Marriott Downtown

Xavier S. Lividini, CHA

Timothy J. McGlinchey, Executive Vice President, Hotel Division
GCAM LLC, a G. Holdings Company

Geoffrey Allan Mills, President
GAM Hospitality Management LLC

Anthony Nuttall, General Manager
Metropolitan Club

Steven Pipes, President
Jack Parker Corporation

John Rieman, General Manager
JW Marriott Essex House New York

John Schafer, Area Vice President & General Manager
Grand Hyatt New York

George D. Schwab, President
Elite International Luxury Hotel Representation

Gary E. Schweikert, Head of Americas
Grace Hotels

Robert Snyder, President
Tishman Hotel Corporation

Sean Verney, General Manager
The Westin New York at Times Square



McDermott, Will & Emery, LLC Banks Brown, Esq., General Counsel

Metropolitan Public Strategies, Inc. Neal Kwatra, CEO Austin Shafran, Senior Vice President


Kane Kessler, P.C. David R. Rothfeld, Esq. Robert L. Sacks, Esq. Lois M. Traub, Esq. Alexander Soric, Esq.Michael Lydakis, Esq. Jennifer M. Schmalz, Esq.Jaclyn K. Ruocco, Esq.



LAK Public Relations, Inc. Lisa Linden, President & CEODavid Simpson, Senior Vice President



PKF O'Connor Davies Henry Freire, CPA, Partner Clare Cella, CPA, Partner



Hospitality Media Group, LLC c/o Hotel Association of New York City, Inc. Philip D. Robinson, Senior Vice President



Office of the Impartial Chairperson Lori R. Pobiner,Office Administrator Pamela Ozoria, Asst. Office Administrator


W. R. Dadukian Duke Associates

Bunny Grossinger Bunny Grossinger Enterprises

Marilyn Q. Lipman

Arnold Tanner Westchester Country Club



American Hotel & Lodging Association
Katherine Lugar, President & CEO

The Broadway League Inc.
Charlotte St. Martin, President

Credit Management Association
Michael Mitchell,CAE, President & CEO

Hospitality Financial & Technology Professionals – New York City Chapter
Elena Mitronich, President

Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International
Consuela Hooblal, President
Kathie Stapleton, Executive Director

Hotel Engineers Association of New York
Sarah Berman, Executive Director

The Leading Hotels of the World, LTD.
Ted Teng, President & CEO


Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
Liza Parker, Chief Operating Officer

NYC & Company
Fred Dixon, CEO

NYC Hospitality Alliance
Andrew Rigie, Executive Director

New York State Hospitality & Tourism Association
Mark Dorr President

New York State Restaurant Association
Melissa Autlio Fleischut, President & CEO

Preferred Hotels & Resorts
Jonathan Newbury, Vice President

RMPG, a York RSG Co.
Liam J. Dunne, President/CEO